ANNA UNIVERSITY

UNIVERSITY COLLEGE OF ENGINEERING

BHARATHIDASAN INSTITUTE OF TECHNOLOGY CAMPUS

TIRUCHIRAPPALLI – 620 024.

04-03-2013: 3.30 P. M.

MINUTES

At the outset, the Chairman the Board of Governors warmly welcomed the distinguished members of the Board of Governors of Bharathidasan Institute of Technology Campus, Tiruchirappalli.

002.01.01 To consider and approve the minutes of First Board of Governors meeting held on 03.09.2012

To confirm the minutes of the First Board of Governors meeting held on 03.09.2012.

RESOLVED TO APPROVE the minutes of the First Board of Governors meeting.

002.01.03 To Inform about the selection of BIT by National Project Implementation Unit for participating in TEQIP Phase- II

The Central Project Advisor, National Project Implementation Unit, Noida has informed that Bharathidasan Institute of Technology Campus has been selected for participation in the TEQIP phase - II under sub-component 1.1 strengthening institutions to improve learning outcomes and employability of graduates. Subject to signing of MoU between the state and selected institutions.

RESOLVED TO APPROVE the selection of BIT Campus by NPIU for participating in TEQIP Phase-II.

002.01.04 To consider and approve authorisation to the Dean, BIT Campus to execute MOU with state government to Initiate the TEQIP activities

As per the guidelines, the Memorandum of Understanding (MOU) between the State Government and the Dean of the Institution participating under Subcomponent 1.1 in the second cycle of TEQIP to be executed. The Dean, Bharathidasan Institute of Technology Campus may be authorised to execute the MoU on behalf of the Institute.

RESOLVED TO APPROVE authorisation to the Dean, BIT Campus to execute MOU with government to Initiate the TEQIP activities.

002.01.05 To consider and approve the appointment of TEQIP coordinator and Nodal officers to initiate the TEQIP activities

The following faculty members may be considered for assigning additional responsibilities for executing the duties emphasized by National Project Implementation Unit and State Project Fund Unit to utilize the grant sanctioned under TEQIP - II.

SI. No.	Name & Designation	Responsibility
01	Dr. T. Sree Renga Raja Assistant Professor & Head Department of EEE	TEQIP Coordinator
02	Dr. K. Nehru Assistant Professor Department of Chemistry	Nodal Officer (Academic)
03	Dr. S. Saravanan Assistant Professor Department of Management Studies	Nodal Officer (Finance)
04	Mr. M. Rengasamy Assistant Professor Department of Petrochemical	Nodal Officer (Procurement)
05	Mr. S. Sivanesh Assistant Professor Department of CSE	Nodal Officer (Equity Assurance Plan)
06	Dr. R. Ilangovan Assistant Professor & Head Department of Civil Engineering	Nodal Officer (Civil Works)

002.01.06 To consider and approve the formation of various committees as per the TEQIP guidelines

As per the guidelines of TEQIP various committees to be formulated to execute the various function coming under the shield of procurement, finance, faculty development, consultancy and strengthening of existing department,

SI. No.	Name of the Committee
01	Academic Committee / Council
02	Finance Committee
03	Building & Works Committee
04	Purchase Committee
05	Disciplinary Committee
06	Institutional Development Committee
07	Student Affairs Committee
08	Library Committee
09	Grievance Committee
10	Anti Gender Harassment Committee
11	Faculty / Staff Development Committee

RESOLVED AND suggested the members to formation of various committees as per the guidelines to implement the TEQIP requirements. The details of various committees is approved as per Annexure.

002.01.07 To consider and approve the conduct of Sports Day in Bharathidasan Institute of Technology Campus

BIT Campus Annual Sports Day function planned to be held on 09.04.2013 at sports ground of BIT Campus Tiruchirappalli. The proposal given by the Deputy Director, Department of Physical Education may be approved.

RESOLVED TO APPROVE the conduct of Sports Day as per the University guidelines.

002.01.08 To consider and approve the Budget for the financial year 2013-14

The budget for the financial year 2013-14 is prepared based on the requirement for the Bharathidasan Institute of Technology Campus.

RESOLVED TO APPROVE the Budget for the financial year 2013-14.

002.01.09 To inform about the selection of Visiting Faculty for the smooth conduct of classes in Bharathidasan Institute of Technology Campus

The recruitment of visiting faculty to various departments of Bharathidasan Institute of Technology Campus was conducted based on screening test and Interview the following were selected as Visiting Faculty.

SI. No	Name	Department	Consolidated Salary
1	Mr. R. Akil	ECE	20,000
2	Ms. M. Azhagu Subha	ECE	20,000
3	Mr. D. Asir Antony Gnana Singh	CSE	20,000
4	Ms. C. Fleena	CSE	20,000
5	Ms.G. Revathi	CSE	20,000
6	Ms. S.T. Uma	CSE	20,000
7	Mr.A. Sangeet Sahaya Jeyangel	Mechanical	20,000
8	Ms. A.P. Narmadha	EEE	20,000
9	Mrs. M.I. Ahymah Joshy	Chemistry	25,000
10	Mr. R. Shanmugavel	English	20,000

RESOLVED TO RATIFY the selection of visiting faculty to various departments of Bharathidasan Institute of Technology Campus.

002.01.10 To consider and approve the Recruitment of visiting Faculty for a period of 11 months from July 2013

At present there are 174 regular faculties and 14 visiting faculties in service in Bharathidasan Institute of Technology Campus. It is extremely difficult to carry out the classes for the existing programme intake. As per request of the Head of the departments, it is required to appoint the faculty members for the departments needed. Hence it is proposed to recruit visiting faculty on consolidate basis for a period of 11 months from July 2013.

SI.	Department	Number of
No.	Dopur tillont	Vacancies
01	Mechanical Engineering	10
02	Automobile Engineering	3
03	Energy Conservation & Management	3
04	Civil Engineering	11
05	Computer Science and Engineering	4
06	Information Technology	6
07	Electronics & Communication Engineering	8
08	Electrical & Electronics Engineering	5
09	English	2
10	Physics	4
11	Chemistry	2
12	Mathematics	1
13	Library	4
Total		63

RESOLVED TO APPROVE the Recruitment of visiting faculty for a period of 11 months from July 2013 for the smooth conduct of classes in the odd semester of the academic year 2013-14.

002.01.11 To nominate a member to the finance committee as BoG nominee.

As per the guidelines of TEQIP – II a member has to be nominated to the finance committee by the BoG. Dr.S.Saravanan, Head of the Department, Department of Management studies is recommended as BoG nominee to the finance committee.

RESOVED to nominate Dr.S.Saravanan, Head of the Department, Department of Management studies.

Mr. R. Balasubramanian Dr. S. Shanmugavel Dr. K. Ruckmani

Dr. P. Rajaguru Dr. S. Muttan Dr. R. Krishnamoorthy